Arizona Field Ornithologist
©2008
HOME | REPORT SIGHTINGS | PHOTOS | BIRDING | JOURNAL | ABOUT US | CHECKLISTS | MIGRATION COUNT | EVENTS | LINKS

 

ARIZONA CHRISTMAS BIRD COUNT SCHEDULE [2021-2022]

By Doug Jenness and Marceline VandeWater

The National Audubon Society has conducted Christmas bird counts since 1900. Volunteers throughout the Western Hemisphere go afield during one calendar day between December 14 and January 5 to record every bird species and individual bird encountered within a designated 15-mile diameter circle. These records now comprise an extensive ornithological database that enables monitoring of winter bird populations and the overall health of the environment. Participants are typically assigned to teams based on their bird identification skills and endurance. Due to the Covid 19 pandemic, the counts will be conducted with the appropriate safety precautions.

CBC map of all the Arizona circles is found here. Zoom in to the Arizona map and select circle of interest.

 

Date Day Count Name Compiler Phone Email*
12/14/21 Tu Salt-Verde Rivers Kurt Radamaker 480-585-1606 kurtrad at mexicobirding.com
12/14/21 Tu Tucson Valley  Keith Kamper 520-495-9564 keithkamper at gmail.com
12/15/21 We Prescott Carl Tomoff 928-778-2626 tomoff at northlink.com
12/16/21 Th Gila River Ryan O'Donnell 435-232-8146 tsirtalis at hotmail.com
12/16/21 Th Havasu NWR Marge Penton 928-201-0619 malgaep at gmail.com
12/16/21 Th Patagonia Kathy West 206-280-1242 patagoniacbc at gmail.com
      Louie Dombrowski 906-291-0291 patagoniacbc at gmail.com
12/17/21 Fr Sedona  Richard Armstrong 928-282-3675 richarmstrong47 at gmail.com
12/17/21 Fr Bill Williams River NWR Joey Saccomanno 928-667-4144x128 joseph_saccomanno at fws.gov
12/17/21 Fr Safford Diane Drobka 928-298-0004 sunny1az at yahoo.com 
12/18/21 Sa Avra Valley Mary Lou Cole 520-499-8749 marylou40 at gmail.com
12/18/21 Sa Nogales Bill Lisowsky 520-987-0187 ykswosil at gmail.com
12/18/21 Sa Hassayampa River Chrissy Kondrat 623-451-1250 ckondrat at azgfd.gov 
12/18/21 Sa Tonto NM - Roosevelt Lake Lindsey Brendel 928-467-2241X403 lindsey_brendel at nps.gov
12/19/21 Su Saint David Heather Swanson 520-307-4405 SPRNCAbird at hotmail.com
12/19/21 Su Jerome  Rob Gibbs 240-780-1318 robgibbs54 at gmail.com
12/19/21 Su Grand Canyon Brian Gatlin 928-638-7723 brian_gatlin at nps.gov
12/19/21 Su Atascosa Highlands Jake Mohlmann 610-390-2424 mohlmann2 at yahoo.com
12/19/21 Su Willow Beach Clayton Merrill 702-371-7548 clayton_merrill at nps.gov 
12/20/21 Mo Ramsey Canyon Ken Blankenship 770-317-8486 kenblankenshipbirding at gmail.com
12/20/21 Mo Chino Valley Russell Duerksen 928-925-5567 duerksen at msn.com
12/21/21 Tu Tres Rios Marceline VandeWater 602-689-4356 marceline at ermaroni.net
12/21/21 Tu Buenos Aires NWR Bonnie Swarbrick 520-240-3737 bonnie.swarbrick at gmail.com
12/26/21 Su Superior Joy Bell 480-760-1393 joyabell_az at yahoo.com
12/27/21 Mo Phoenix-Metro Kathy Balman 678-457-0802 nerdyforbirdies at gmail.com 
12/27/21 Mo Santa Catalina Mountains Kendall Kroesen 520-971-2385 kkroesen at cox.net
      Holly Kleindienst 520-308-7604 hollykleindienst at gmail.com
12/28/21 Tu Green Valley-Madera Canyon Malcolm Chesworth 203-947-2440 malcolmsc at yahoo.com
12/30/21 Th Carefree Cathryn Wise 602-301-7530 cwise at audubon.org
01/01/22 Sa Flagstaff-Mount Elden Terry Blows 928-523-6863 terence.blows at nau.edu
01/01/22 Sa Portal Jackie Lewis 520-558-2287 winjac12 at vtc.net
01/01/22 Sa Timber Mesa Mary Williams 480-235-1792 mary.williams at arizonachristian.edu 
01/02/22 Su Camp Verde Kay Hawklee 432-703-0007 khawklee at gmail.com
01/02/22 Su Dudleyville Doug Jenness 520-909-1529 d_jenness at hotmail.com
01/02/22 Su Martinez Lake-Yuma Lin Piest 480-662-0455 lpiest at aol.com                                 
01/03/22 Mo Appleton-Whittell Suzanne Wilcox 520-455-5522 swilcox at audubon.org
01/04/22 Tu Ajo-Cabeza Prieta Stephanie Doerries 520-387-4989 stephanie_doerries at fws.gov
01/05/22 We Lake Pleasant Eric Hough 480-751-8144 eric.hough at maricopa.gov 
01/05/22 We Payson  David Hallock 928-474-9475 eldoradh at rmi.net
?   Glen Canyon John Spence 928-608-6267 john_spence at nps.gov
?   Lukeville Daniel Martin 928-210-2420 daniel_j_martin at nps.gov
?   Organ Pipe Cactus NM Daniel Martin 928-210-2420 daniel_j_martin at nps.gov

 

 

* Change at to @ and delete spaces before sending  

 


Greater White-fronted Goose, photo by Troy Corman Rufous-backed Robin, photo by Marceline VandeWater

 

 

 

 


 


©2005
HOME | REPORT SIGHTINGS | PHOTOS | BIRDING | JOURNAL | ABOUT US | CHECKLISTS | AZ BIRD COMMITTEE | EVENTS | LINKS