

Tucson, AZ September 28, 2024

The annual membership business meeting, chaired by Jennie MacFarland, was convened by AZFO president Troy Corman at 1:10 pm. The meeting was held in the context of a joint meeting with the Western Bird Banding Association, which included 10 scientific presentations, a photo quiz, and a raffle were held. Following this program a dinner featured Richard Fischer speaking on the U. S. Department of Defense's conservation management on 27 million acres of military lands. Janet Witzeman announced that Gary Rosenberg was awarded the AZFO Achievement Award, This was the fifth award since 2018. On Friday and Sunday many attendees participated in mini-field expeditions and workshops, and on Thursday and Friday evenings got together to share experiences at social events.

Corman noted that since the last AZFO meeting, Walter Thurber, a long-time member and leader of AZFO passed away. He urged participants to read the tribute to Walter in <u>Arizona Birds</u>.

1. <u>Bylaws Amendment.</u> Doug Jenness reported that at the last membership meeting, a decision was made to temporarily combine the positions of treasurer and membership secretary. Based on the experience of the past year, this was very successful, and the Board of Directors proposes to this meeting to amend the bylaws to combine these two positions.

Motion: To amend the bylaws to combine the treasurer and membership secretary positions. Article VI, Section 1 will be amended to read: Officers are president, vice president, treasurer/membership secretary, and recording secretary. Article VI, Section 2 will be amended to read: Officers and other board members will each be elected for a two (2)-year term, except for treasurer/membership secretary for which there will be no term limit. Article VI, Section 3 will be amended to read: Every other year beginning in 2025, the positions of president, recording secretary, and two board members will be open for election, and in alternate years beginning in 2024, the positions of vice president, treasurer/membership secretary, and three board members will be open for election. Article VI, Sections 7 and 9 will be combined to read: Section 7. The treasurer/membership secretary shall collect all dues and receive other funds delivered to AZFO and shall make such disbursements as may be authorized by the board of directors. The treasurer/membership

secretary will present to the AZFO annual meeting a statement on the financial status of the AZFO detailing all current assets and balances. The treasurer shall sign checks on AZFO bank accounts and pay bills for the AZFO as required. The treasurer/membership secretary shall maintain member records and lists of members attending and eligible to vote at general membership meetings. The treasurer/membership secretary shall send notice of when dues are payable and ensure that new members receive all AZFO information they are entitled to.

Carried.

2. <u>Elections.</u> On behalf of the Nominations Committee, Jenness presented the nominees for the open officer and board positions.

President—Tice Supplee
Vice President—Scott Olmstead
Treasurer-Membership Secretary—Diana Herron
Board Member—Sue Drown
Board Member—Bill Lisowsky
Board Member—Nick Beauregard

Jenness noted that Corman still has one year left in his term, but had indicated when he accepted the nomination in 2023 that he would welcome being replaced. Tice will be elected to complete his term. Jenness asked if there was any opposition to accepting the nominations in one vote. There was no objection.

<u>Motion</u>: To accept the nominations as reported. Carried.

3. Treasurer/Membership Secretary Reports

<u>Diana Herron</u> reported that she filed the required annual 990-N forms with the Internal Revenue Service and the annual report with the Arizona Corporation Commission.

She presented the financial performance for 2024.

Income:

Memberships, \$1,900 Donations, \$2,478 Total: \$4,378

Expenses:

Arizona Birds, \$1,586
Web Services, \$1,885
Administrative, Outreach, and Fees, \$2,137

Total: \$5,608

Current Balance: \$11,600 Restricted Funds: \$1,175

<u>Diana</u> reported that the current membership is 167, including eight life members. She referred members to the updated website on how to renew their memberships and how to donate specific funds. She explained the restricted funds are donations delegated to specific purposes such as the Gale Monson Research Grants or the newly created Field Expeditions and Workshops Fund, which allows donations to be utilized towards expedition and workshop related costs.

4. Field Expeditions

<u>Jelena Gbric</u> summarized AZFO's field expeditions for the past year.

The first expedition was the January 27 Lake Havasu winter survey. Participants in two boats surveyed birds overwintering on the lake. Many rarities were found including a Short-billed Gull; Sabine's Gull; a mixed flock of Bonapartes, California, and Herring gulls; and White-winged Scoters. Particularly notable was a high number of Goldeneyes.

On April 20-21, AZFO members and supporters, and a group of volunteers from the Tucson Audubon Society covered the Avra Valley eBird Gaps area to fill in the gaps region and gather data on species of special concern, including Gilded Flicker, Bendire's Thrasher, and Elf Owl.

An expedition May 31-June 3 to the Springerville area followed up on reported Mountain Plover nesting in the 1990s, where little monitoring of this small breeding population had occurred since. The expedition's goal was to determine if Mountain Plovers are continuing to breed in the grass and rangelands of Apache County. The search resulted in no Mountain Plovers being present. No presence is still valuable data.

<u>Jelena</u> announced registration will soon be available for the upcoming field expedition, which will be in Greenlee County November 9-10, 2024.

5. Youth Scholarships

<u>Kerrie Anne Loyd</u> announced the youth scholarships, funded by grants from the Maricopa Audubon and Prescott Audubon societies, which provide funds for young people interested in ornithology to participate in the annual meetings. Recipients for the 2024 annual meeting were Anna Heveran and Amanda Hammer.

Meeting Adjournment: 1:45 pm